Rep. Tulsi Gabbard Announces Congressional Art Competition Finalists, Opens People’s Choice Voting on Facebook

May 20, 2020
Press Release
Honolulu, HICongresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02) today announced twenty finalists in the 2020 Kaha Kiʻi Congressional Art Competition and launched a People’s Choice contest on her official Facebook page, where the public can select their favorite pieces.
Each spring, the congresswoman sponsors the event to recognize and encourage creativity across Hawai‘i as part of a nationwide high school art competition with other Members of the U.S. House of Representatives.
The entry with the most Likes and Loves in the People’s Choice contest on on Wednesday, May 27 at 6:00 p.m. HST will be featured as the cover photo at the top of Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard’s official Facebook page, and the artist will win a cash prize.
“The Congressional Art Competition is an opportunity every year to recognize the abilities of our budding artists and encourage them to pursue their talent further. I commend the educators and family members who support these students as they embrace their passion. You will be impressed and inspired by their talent and creativity,” said Rep. Tulsi Gabbard.  
The winners of the district-wide competition will be announced in June in a virtual ceremony. The first-place piece will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol alongside winners from all other congressional districts. The second-place and third-place pieces will be hung in Rep. Tulsi Gabbard’s Washington, DC and Hawaiʻi offices. All winners will be awarded with a cash prize.
2020 Kaha Kiʻi Congressional Art Competition Finalists
Jenna Blevins, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Eleanore Carey, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Nina Corabi, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Tassyanna Dosier, Kalāheo High School, Oʻahu
Malia Gillin, Kalāheo High School, Oʻahu
Finn Hagan, Seabury Hall, Maui
Isabella Hutchinson, Kalāheo High School, Oʻahu
Farrah Marini, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Mele Rickards, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Heidi Roach, Island School, Kauaʻi
William Tyler Russell, Seabury Hal, Mauil
Kellen Sakaitani, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Faylin Sales, Seabury Hall, Maui
Rayna Shafter, Island School, Kauaʻi
Emily Smith, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Zoe Spikerman, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Erin Tanaka, Seabury Hall, Maui
Tyler Thomas, Parker School, Hawaiʻi Island
Sophia Van Derveer, Seabury Hall, Maui
Summer Wong, Seabury Hall, Maui
About Rep. Tulsi Gabbard: Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard is serving her fourth term in the United States House representing Hawai‘i’s Second District, and serves on the House Armed Services and Financial Services Committees. She previously served on the House Foreign Affairs Committee and Homeland Security Committee. She was elected to the Honolulu City Council in 2010, and prior to that at age 21, was elected to the Hawaiʻi State Legislature in 2002, becoming the youngest person ever elected in the state. Tulsi Gabbard has served in the Hawaiʻi Army National Guard for over 17 years, is a veteran of two Middle East deployments, and continues to serve as a Major. Learn more about Rep. Tulsi Gabbard...
Follow Rep. Tulsi Gabbard on social media:

Office Locations