Rep. Tulsi Gabbard Announces 2018 Kaha Kiʻi Congressional Art Competition Finalists, Launches “People’s Choice” Contest on Facebook

April 20, 2018
Press Release

Honolulu, HI—Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02) today announced 20 finalists in her Sixth Annual Kaha Kiʻi Second Congressional District Art Competition and launched a “People’s Choice” contest on her Facebook page for the public to select their favorite pieces. A gallery of the finalists’ artwork is currently on display in the halls of the Hawaiʻi State Capitol through May 12.

Each spring, the congresswoman sponsors the event to recognize and encourage creativity across Hawai‘i as part of a nationwide high school art competition with other Members of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard said, “Our annual Kaha Kiʻi Congressional Art Competition is a great opportunity to recognize the creative abilities of Hawaii’s students and encourage them to further pursue their artistic talents. Mahalo to the educators and family members that support our students as they embrace their passion. Congratulations to this year’s finalists!”

The overall winner of the district-wide competition will be announced on May 12th in a ceremony at the Hawai‘i State Capitol. The first-place piece will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol alongside winners from all other congressional districts. The second-place and third-place pieces will be hung in Rep. Tulsi Gabbard’s Washington, DC and Hawaiʻi offices (respectively) for one year. All winners will be awarded with a cash prize.

The entry with the most Likes, Loves, and Shares in the “People’s Choice” Contest on Facebook on Thursday May 3 at 5:00 p.m. HST will be featured as the cover photo at the top of Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard’s official Facebook page, and the artist will win a cash prize.


The 2018 Kaha Kiʻi Congressional Art Competition Finalists are listed below:


(Name, High School, Title of Artwork)


Tia Lardizabal, Kauaʻi High School, He Inoa O Kaumuali'i


Sharnell Kaili, Molokaʻi High School, Bamboo Gecko


Chelline Keliiliki, Kamehameha Schools Maui, Impermanance 2


Malie Nahoolewa, Kamehameha Schools Maui, Piece by Piece


Taevyn Roback, Kamehameha Schools Maui, Chop Suey


Zoe Tezak, Seabury Hall, Ephemeral


Chiemi Powell, Seabury Hall, Just One Drop


Clair Peck, Seabury Hall, Jumping Haleakala


Neira Hernandez, Kalaheo High School, La Cuentista-The Storyteller


Tyana Molinaro, Kalaheo High School, Lost in the Crowd


Mari Kurosawa, Kalaheo High School, Conformity Destroys Creativity


Rosa Kirgis, Leilehua High School, 15 Years Later


Alexis Polandey, Leilehua High School, Fly With Me


Marha Aron, Leilehua High School, Accidental Tourist


Zaria Dudley, Leilehua High School, Glance


Josephine Ladao, Leilehua High School, Snack Searching


Amanda Markham, Leilehua High School, The Last Note


Sadie Perez, Leilehua High School, Water Fun


Justine Tolentino, Leilehua High School, Uproar


Addison Davis, LeJardin Academy, A Hiker's Worst Nightmare



Office Locations