10/08/2020: COVID-19 Coronavirus Response Update

COVID-19 Coronavirus Response Update

October 8, 2020
Testing in Hawai‘i — Since yesterday, the Department of Health reports a total of 101 new cases and 1 additional COVID-19 related death. There are currently 2,506 active cases in the state.
164 have died
900 required hospitalization
10,604 have been released from isolation
There have been 443,992 diagnostic tests conducted as of today.
Tracing in Hawai‘i — The people of Hawai‘i should know how many active contact tracers there are on any given day, how many we have trained in reserve, what percentage of individuals with new infections they have contacted within 24 hours, and the state’s Infection Rate.
  • Number of Active Tracers = 300 (+12 from the previous week) *
  • Number of Trained Tracers in Reserve = **
  • Percent of New Infections Whose Contacts are Traced within 24 Hours = ***
  • Infection Rate = ***, but COVID Act Now reports 0.94. (+0.01 since yesterday)
* The DOH only has weekly numbers. These are for the week of Sep. 28-Oct. 4
** The state had been providing updates via its new dashboard, but this number has not been updated for weeks.
*** the DOH provides no information.
George Washington University reports that, given the number of infections and the rate of infection in Hawai‘i today, the state should have 621 active tracers. The GWU contact tracing tool can be found in the CDC’s guidance on contact tracing.
Looking for federal and state COVID-19 resources — including directions on dealing with UI and PUA, local food banks, testing sites, and economic recovery programs for small businesses? Visit gabbard.house.gov/COVID-19.
IRS Extends Economic Impact Payments Non-Filers Tool Through November 21, 2020 — If you haven’t yet received your Economic Impact Payment, go to IRS.gov now and use the Get My Payment tool. The IRS has extended the deadline for individuals to claim their Economic Impact Payment (EIP). The IRS’s Non-Filers tool will be now available through November 21, 2020. Getting your payment is easy. Simply file your tax return or use the
Non-Filer Tool at IRS.gov. Help is available at 211, IRS.gov, or consumerfinance.gov.
Hawai‘i Announces Trusted Testing and Travel Partners for Covid-19 Pre-Travel Testing Program that Starts October 15 — The pandemic response leadership team provided more details yesterday about the State of Hawaiʻi’s COVID-19 pre-travel testing program for Hawaiʻi inbound travelers, which starts on Oct. 15, 2020. Hawaiʻi’s pre-travel testing program requires passengers five and older to take a Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) from a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified laboratory within 72 hours from the final leg of departure and produce a negative result in order to avoid the state’s 14-day mandatory quarantine. A trained professional must observe all tests. Only test results from trusted testing partners approved by the Hawaiʻi Department of Health will be accepted. Registration instructions and costs can be found at the partners’ websites. Links and more information for travelers seeking a pre-travel test and a list of approved trusted testing partners can be found at HawaiiCovid19.com
New Fees for Visitors at Hawaiʻi State Parks Intended to Off-Set COVID-19 Losses — As of this Friday, October 9, out-of-state residents and commercial operators will be charged higher fees for entering select Hawaiʻi State Parks. The higher fees were approved by the Board of Land and Natural Resources in August. After a public hearing, the fee schedule was signed into law by Gov. David Ige last week. Read the full news release here.
County of Maui Moving Forward with Pre-Travel Testing Program — Mayor Michael Victorino is requesting support from the Governor, visitor industry and businesses to urge transpacific travelers to voluntarily take a second test after they arrive in Maui County, under the State’s pre-travel testing program. Earlier this week, Mayor Victorino’s request for a mandatory post-arrival test for transpacific travelers starting Oct. 15, was denied by the Governor. 
Mayor Victorino has also requested that Maui County residents traveling solely between Maui, Molokai and Lanai would not be subject to quarantine or the pre-travel testing program. If the request is granted, residents traveling within Maui County would not have to quarantine for 14 days. However, this rule would not apply if any portion of their trip is outside Maui County, such as connecting flights through Oahu or Big Island. The County of Maui has also requested that interisland travelers be allowed to participate in the pre-travel testing program that starts on Oct. 15. This would allow interisland travelers to be exempt from quarantine if they provide a negative test within 72 hours prior to their departure. Children under the age of 5 would not have to get tested. Read more here
State of Hawaiʻi COVID-19 PPE Distribution Program — The Hawaii Emergency Management Agency (HI-EMA) is coordinating a program, the State of Hawaii COVID-19 PPE Distribution Program, to distribute free personal protective equipment (PPE) to non-profits and public-facing small businesses.
Links to informational flyers on the program, qualifications and how to apply may be found here:
If you need more information, contact the Hawaii Emergency Management Agency (HI-EMA) at ESF7.hiema@hawaii.gov.

Office Locations