09/25/2020: COVID-19 Coronavirus Response Update
COVID-19 Coronavirus Response Update
September 25, 2020
Testing in Hawai‘i — Since yesterday, the Department of Health reports a total of 112 new cases and 3 additional COVID-19 related deaths. There are currently 6,464 active cases in the state.
To date, there are 11,891 individuals in Hawai‘i who have tested positive for COVID-19. Of these cases:
127 have died
787 required hospitalization
5,397 have been released from isolation
There have been 402,010 diagnostic tests conducted as of today.
Tracing in Hawai‘i — The people of Hawai‘i should know how many active contact tracers there are on any given day, how many we have trained in reserve, what percentage of individuals with new infections they have contacted within 24 hours, and the state’s Infection Rate.
Number of Active Tracers = 265 (-28 from the previous week) *
Number of Trained Tracers in Reserve = 507 (-28 from the previous week) **
Percent of New Infections Whose Contacts are Traced within 24 Hours = ***
Infection Rate = ***, but COVID Act Now reports 0.79. (+0.01 since yesterday)
* The DOH only has weekly numbers. These are for the week of Sep. 14-Sep. 20
** The state only has weekly numbers. These are for the week of Sep. 7-Sep. 13.
*** the DOH provides no information.
One of the key problems with data reporting in Hawai‘i continues to be the lack of frequently and consistently updated information about contact tracing. Right now, we are pulling data from two different webpages the state is using to report the data.
George Washington University reports that, given the number of infections and the rate of infection in Hawai‘i today, the state should have 661 active tracers. The GWU contact tracing tool can be found in the CDC’s guidance on contact tracing.
Looking for federal and state COVID-19 resources — including directions on dealing with UI and PUA, local food banks, testing sites, and economic recovery programs for small businesses? Visit gabbard.house.gov/COVID-19.
DLIR Announces Latest UI Numbers — The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DLIR) announced updated unemployment insurance claims information, including paying $3,298,070,537 and 3,448,775 weeks claimed since the onset of the COVID-19 Pandemic on March 1, 2020. Read the full announcement for more information about the Lost Wage Assistance program.
Hawaiian Homes Commission (HHC) Approves Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL) Loan Deferral Extension — The Hawaiian Homes Commission (HHC) has approved the continuance of mortgage loan payment postponement for all Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL) direct loans and loans assigned to the Department for an additional three-month period, effective with the October 2020 payment. The deferment is an auto-enrolled postponement.
For information about DHHL loan deferrals, call (808) 620-9500. If you have a loan with an outside lender and are facing financial hardship due to COVID-19, the Department encourages you to contact your provider as soon as possible. To learn more about COVID-19 impacts on DHHL activities, visit dhhl.hawaii.gov/covid-19.
Hawai‘i Department of Education ‘Ohana Help Desk — Parents, guardians and students! As a reminder, ‘Ohana Help Desk agents are available to assist with your technology questions and issues.
Reach out to the ‘Ohana Help Desk at 643-DESK (3375) or go to http://ohanahelpdesk.org.
Need a Passport? Things to Know During COVID — If you are planning on applying for a passport please know that:
Is it safe to travel now? You can visit travel.state.gov for country-specific advisory warnings before you plan your trip.
You can select routine (10-12 weeks) or expedited service (4-6 weeks). Expedited service costs an additional $60.
If you want fastest delivery, then you can select 1-2 day shipping of a completed passport book for $17.13. It is not available for passport cards.
If you’ve applied previously and are still waiting, then status updates are available at passportstatus.state.gov. You can also upgrade to expedited service by calling (877) 487-2778.
If you applied for expedited service and did not receive it, then you are eligible for a refund of the $60 expedited fee. Go to travel.state.gov for more info.
Remember, you need to provide evidence of U.S. Citizenship which may include these documents (originals or certified copy):
Expired U.S. passport
Birth certificate from a U.S. state
Certificate of Naturalization
Certificate of Citizenship
Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA) — for more information about this, visit the State Department CRBA webpage or call (202) 485-8300
Secondary evidence of Citizenship examples include a delayed birth certificate, letter of no record, or an early public or private document.
Constituents can connect with the State Department in this regard by visiting travel.state.gov, calling the national passport information center at (877) 487-2778, emailing firstname.lastname@example.org, or through social media on Facebook (@TravelGov) or YouTube (StateVideo).